The Barong Tagalog

Centuries of Spanish colonial period refined the distinct artistry of the Barong Tagalog, the Philippine National Costume for men. When the Spanish ruling dictated a demarcation against the lowly Indio, Filipinos were made to wear their shirts not tucked under the waistbands. To add to that, Barongs were fashioned out of sheer fabric and with no pockets, appeasing the Spaniards’ fear that Filipinos are not out to attack them with hidden bolos and other weapons. As a result, the people focused their skills into defining their clothing as a symbol of resistance. Each shirt is handcrafted and embroidered with the distinctive piña cloth (fiber from pineapple leaves) or Jusi fabric made from abaca or banana silk. Despite its seeming flimsiness, the Barong Tagalog stood proudly against a revolutionary canvas of freedom uproars and rebellion.

Traditional Barong Tagalog

Casa del Shai offers you the Barong Tagalog in all its glory as it evolved with the modern times. Worn formally in either traditional and mandarin collared styles, the Barong Tagalog’s craftwork is presented in three colours; Antique, Ebony and the more common Ivory. The embroidered shirts come with the Camiso De Chino, a simple long sleeved undershirt similar to the Henley and the ubiquitous black dress pants.

Mandarin Collared Barong Tagalog

Sharing with you more of our Filipino flavor at the Casa del Shai Deco.

22 thoughts on “The Barong Tagalog

  1. Pingback: SL MEN » Nouveau chez Casa del Shai / New release at Casa del Shai: The Barong Tagalog

  2. Shai, I bow to you and I hope the success of your Filipino and Filipina heritage collections start a revolution of their own in prompting other designers to so beautifully render their own cultural wear. In my eyes you have set a precedent in quality. I can’t come up with enough positive adjectives to describe these.

    I’m very proud of you, Slugmeister.

  3. Yeah what Cat said + thanks so much for the free one from the drawing! I bought the Luna Suit yesterday and it’s fantasticooooooooooooo. I love it, I’d get married in it, I’d skydive in it, I’d pick up chicks at Bellagio in it. Now I just need a brown watch to go with it. 🙂

  4. Hey

    I was surfing the web and i saw this site, pretty cool.
    Currently im running and adult site:Wellness
    k, just want to say hi 🙂
    Can i link you from my site? im looking for quality content like yours. If no let me know if i can add u in exchange for a montly fee or something.

  5. Pingback: flat toothpick » Blog Archive » A Filipiñana wedding?

  6. This is my first encounter with the “Second Life” title, while actually searching for a Barong Tagalog skin for The Sims 2. I wonder, do you happen to know of such?

  7. Hi,
    I put a link to your blog from a post I wrote about my wedding. Got married in Davao just two weeks ago and I wore a Barong Tagalog. On my blog I have a few travel letters from our three weeks in the Philippines.
    Roger

  8. Pingback: Hardy’s on a Shoestring » Travel Letter - Philippines X

  9. to this great team!

    My applause to this wonderful vision.
    i have been looking forward to see how our own native marks can be in tune with the modern time and still stand out.
    WOW!!! that’s the word i have for you guys.
    More power
    I hope to see the same adaptation for womens section.

    cheers!
    Lea

  10. To Sir or Ma’am Shai, because I don’t know who the person is, much less the gender,
    THIS
    IS
    SO
    COOL.
    I’ve been depressed about the prom then suddenly, this just appeared. I’m stunned by the quality of the barong that I will wear. This will definitely become a hit. Thanks.

  11. My brother recommended I might like this web site.
    He was totally right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine just
    how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thanks!

  12. thank you for some of the superb pointers you happen to be providing only at that website.

    My extended web investigation has on the end been honored with sensible content to share
    with all of my contacts. I ‘d assume that nearly all of us site visitors are unequivocally fortunate to be at the fabulous site with and so many special individuals with very helpful advice. I feel very blessed to provide seen the web site and show forward to so many more awesome moments reading here. Thank you once more for everything.

  13. Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your site is so cool.
    I’m impressed by the details that you’ve on this web site. It reveals how nicely you

    understand this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles.

    You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched everywhere

    and simply couldn’t come across. What a great website.

  14. Thanks so much for giving everyone an

    extraordinarily wonderful chance to read critical reviews from this site.

    It is usually

    very good and also jam-packed with a good time for me and my office

    acquaintances to visit the blog the equivalent of thrice in
    one week to

    study the latest guides you have. And definitely,

    I am also usually

    impressed with the striking ideas you give. Some 4
    facts in this article are undeniably the most suitable I’ve had.

  15. A lot of what you point out happens to be supprisingly

    appropriate and it makes me ponder the reason why I had not

    looked at this in this light previously. This article really did

    switch the light on for me as far as this

    subject matter goes. Nevertheless there is actually one factor I am not necessarily too comfy with

    and whilst I attempt to reconcile that with the core theme of the point, allow me observe just what
    the

    rest of your visitors have to point out.Nicely done.

  16. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have

    truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to
    your

    feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

